Straight, No Chaser

The day I came out to my mother

We hung up after a conversation

Where my leaden arms couldn’t find the strength

To pull the drain

Of the bathtub filling in my chest

 

Before I called her back

I searched the room for my bottle of Froot Loops flavored vodka

With hopes that the burn of keeping down

Straight-tasting childhood

Could finally emerge at the door of my young adulthood

Warm, smiling, and overconfident.

 

But I did 100 jumping jacks instead

Until my heartbeat was loud enough

To convince myself I could Morse Code my message

Over the telephone wires

Without having to speak.

 

They say our bodies play host

To a limited number of heartbeats

And I’ve spent most of my credits

In the seconds before

“I have something I want to tell you”

 

Coming out

May mean catching up

But starting over

Doesn’t mean

We’re running a different track

All it means

Is we’re finally ready

To begin catching our breath.


Leave a Reply

